Pain

During quiet times, like taking a shower, I often find myself thinking about my children. I relive the events of the day and consistently come up with ways I could have done things better, more Godly. Again, my flesh messed it up.

Today while reliving these events I came to the conclusion that if only I could get my son to understand that everything we do as parents is to help him avoid the pains we went through he would get it! He would want to do the right thing. It was brilliant, in my eyes. Yes, that’s it, that was my plan of action!

But then I heard it, the strong but quiet voice reminding me of my pain. The pain that caused so much hurt and sadness. The pain that caused so much loneness and rejection. The pain that caused so much isolation and mistrust. The pain that ultimately led me to the realization that the ONLY thing I can truly depend on is God.

It was the pain that created and solidified my love for the Lord. Without it, I wouldn’t have the deep relationship I have with Him today. I wouldn’t crave to know and understand scripture. I wouldn’t know He is always there. He has a sovereign plan for my life that I can’t mess up. So ultimately, I wouldn’t trade the pain for anything. In fact, looking back and knowing the end result, I welcome the pain.

And the voice goes on, it says to help him avoid pain isn’t preparing him for life at all. In fact, it will hurt him because it is through the pain that he will eventually know Me the way you do. So allow the pain, but use your energy and wisdom to teach him how to navigate through the pain. Help him learn to seek Me and know Me through the pain, so that it may indeed be used for My glory.

Allow the pain, hold his hand through it, but never avoid it. Always point to the end and the creator of his life. Encourage him to ask God more than me, trust God more than me, and to love God more than me.

Leave a Reply

